District Kitchen does it right

20140726_214146

District Kitchen is a lovely American restaurant with a rustic feel in the Woodley Park neighborhood. The decor features exposed brick walls, a polished concrete floor, and dark wood finishes. The highlight of the restaurant during the warmer months is the abundant outdoor seating facing Connecticut Avenue.

I’ve passed DK many times but never ate there until last week. Now I am wondering what took me so long after eating at many of the mediocre restaurants in the area. DK is a shining star compared to its neighboring restaurants.

20140726_214411

The menu is fresh and presumably seasonal. Everything that I ordered was perfect for a warm summer night. I usually start with a soup but since the soup of the day was a gazpacho and I don’t like cold soup I went with the crab and grilled corn appetizer topped with avocado. It was delicious! The ingredients were well-balanced and perfect as a light appetizer to stave off my hunger while I waited for the main dish to arrive.

20140726_215852

One of the cool things about DK is that they offer half portions of many of the entrees so you don’t have to waddle out of the restaurant stuffed to the gills. I ordered a half portion of the shrimp and polenta. The flavors were wonderful, however I felt that the polenta could have been a bit more firm.  The meal half portion came with 3 large grilled shrimp and a few slices of spicy andouille sausage. I loved the kick from the andouille, but I thought that a few sprinkles of crumbled bacon could have added a nice bit of texture. The portion was the perfect size and the flavors worked well together.

20140726_222529For dessert I tried the creme brûlée.  The sugar-coating was on the lighter size as was the custard. It also had a tangy citrusy taste to it which unfortunately overpowered the vanilla bean. It was topped with fresh strawberries, (which it really did not need,) so I took them off since they were hard and not sweet. While it was not the best creme brûlée I’ve ever had it was decent.

The service was phenomenal! The server was attentive and pleasant. He noticed that I was barely drinking the cocktail I ordered and asked if it was O.K. I told him that it was a bit on the strong side and he offered to add a bit more ginger liqueur to tone it down. It was perfect! I never once had to ask for anything while I was there. It is apparent that the owner and management really value customer service.  I definitely plan to be back and look forward to their fall menu.

District Kitchen 2606 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20008
Neighborhood: Woodley Park

Unedited photos by D. Bell using the Samsung Galaxy S5.

District Kitchen on Urbanspoon

Tell me something good below or email uptownflavor@gmail.com

