Job Prob

Today I had an interview in Petworth followed by a job fair in Tenleytown. Yes, I had a busy day.IMG_3374 I’ve had 3 outfit changes and I have traveled by bus, metro, cab, and on foot in a pair of what should be comfortable pumps. I need a foot massage…now. In any event, I believe that I am close to landing a job. No one can say that I didn’t try because goodness knows I put in some work on this job search. I love how the gentleman I interviewed with in Petworth described it: “as you strategically plan your job search.” Yes, that is exactly what I have been doing. The job fair today confirmed that many others are also strategically planning their job searches as well because the longest lines corresponded to what I had on my list.

I think those who are hiring need to remember that the people they are hiring are bringing something they need to the table. I interviewed with a couple of ladies who were obviously disinterested in being at the hiring fair despite the fact that they had a position to fill. They were downright hostile. I eventually won them over, but I didn’t appreciate the fact that they couldn’t even bother to seem interested in the process. I realize now that I sent a resume to them a week ago and received an out of office reply. Upon deeper questioning I came to find out why they were not on my high priority list.

If nothing else it was an interesting day. I am ready to land a job at this point. I’m getting burned out with the process.

Tell me something good below or email uptownflavor@gmail.com

