Hitting rock bottom with bottomless Mimosas

Spring has arrived in our fair city, which means that hibernators cast aside the covers and venture out into the world again. This was the case on a holiday Saturday. I reserved a spot for a Yelp Elite meet up at Urbana in Dupont Circle. I am still in the process of trying to “make connections” in a city that is notorious for being a bit “standoffish”.

I caught Metro since parking can sometimes be a challenge and boy am I glad I did. When they said bottomless Mimosas, they meant it. For the full two hours of the event bottles were popping and glasses were topped off with build your own Mimosas. Finally at around 3:30 PM the restaurant cut us off and sent us on our tipsy way.

The endless glasses of Mimosa helped take the bite of the fact that a roach fell from the ceiling and landed in front of the people in our party and the lack of flavor in my crab omelet. Then, there was the strange interaction with the “manager” who seemed to think that the meet up was Monday at 7 PM instead even though it was happening at the table right behind the hostess stand. So while Urbana could have been promising, three strikes and you are out! I do not plan to return. In addition, I alerted the parent company that the place is infested with roaches and that they need to hire an exterminator ASAP.

Our Mimosa fueled shenanigans continued down the street, but everything after about 3:30 is pretty much a blur so I will end the story here. While I had my camera I did not take any pictures.

Dee-designstyle-love-heart-m

Tell me something good below or email uptownflavor@gmail.com

