National Memorial Day Concert on the Lawn

CAM invited me to the National Memorial Day Concert on the Lawn of the Capitol. It sounded like it might be fun so we packed a picnic and hopped on the red line to Union Station. The walk over was long, probably because we were lugging so much stuff with us.  Then we had to walk around barriers that had been set up just to wind up back where we started which was really frustrating. Not sure if they were expecting more people or what. On the way I saw I white squirrel. I didn’t even know that white squirrels existed. Actually I didn’t even know that there was a variety of black squirrels until I saw them on the campus of Howard University. If you know the history of Howard then you will know why that is significant. Now, I know that it is was a Memorial Day concert but it was somber. Between the music there were videos of injured soldiers and tales of how comrades were killed in battle. After a while it got to be a bit much for me. Anyway, CAM and I ate ourselves silly then packed up and headed back home. Although the mood was somewhat of a downer it was a nice outing.

Photos by D. Bell using Samsung Galaxy S5

Tell me something good below or email uptownflavor@gmail.com

