U Street Architecture

Today’s mission was to find yummy ramen for lunch. Epic fail! I tried Sakuramen and they didn’t open until 5:30 PM. Then I tried DC Noodles and they were just closing to set up for dinner service as I walked in. I was hungry and frustrated so I headed over to Busboys & Poets  in the hope of getting a cold sesame noodle dish or something. Nope, no such luck. To top it off I had the worst waitress ever. Let’s just call her the invisible waitress. Therefore her tip was also invisible. So yeah, I was a bit miffed this afternoon.

My funky mood didn’t stop me from noticing the wonderful architecture that still exists in the U Street Corridor. I have always loved that neighborhood, even when it was run down and ragged. I really need to find my old pictures of the area that I took in black and white when I attended Howard University.

Above are a few of my favorites that I saw today. They really exemplify the flavor of the old area in its former incarnation.

Photos by D. Bell using Samsung Galaxy S5

Tell me something good below or email uptownflavor@gmail.com

