Firehook Bakery & Coffee House

image

The Sunday after a snow storm found me in Cleveland Park getting my taxes prepared.  Once I did my duty as a good citizen I stood outside on the snow covered sidewalk and looked around.
image

The sun decided to make an appearance and it seemed that a gorgeous day was in store. I needed to go to the library but it didn’t open until later so I was trying to figure out what I would do to kill time. At just that moment the whiff of coffee hit my nose and the fact that I hadn’t yet had breakfast became more apparent. I slipped into an unassuming doorway and was blanketed by the warm, inviting haven that only a cafe can provide on a cold snowy day.

I fell in line and ordered a breakfast sandwich and coffee. The sandwich was less than $5 and the coffee less than $2. Quite reasonable!

image

I found a table and peeked into the backyard patio that was closed due to the snow. My order came quickly and I took my time eating my croissant with bacon, egg, and cheese and sipping my coffee which was very good for a house blend.

image

I plan to revisit Firehook in the spring or summer once the weather warms up so I can enjoy the lovely back patio sans snow.

image

Firehook Bakery and Coffee House
Cleveland Park
3411 Connecticut Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C

Photos by D. Bell using Samsung Galaxy S5. 

Tell me something good below or email uptownflavor@gmail.com

