Favorite affordable beauty products for Spring

wpid-wp-1426711264544.jpeg

Lip color is the Nyx and Milani mixed together

A recent quick trip to pick up a prescription turned into a mini beauty haul of sorts. I am on the hunt for a new foundation since I have decided to give up on MAC’s Studio Fix. I actually love MAC products but after years of denial I have come to the conclusion that it doesn’t love my skin. I suffered frequent break outs and discoloration of my previously smooth skin when I used both the powder and the liquid foundation. While numerous high-end brands have been recommended by beauty bloggers I am hesitant about dropping a lot of money on a product that I am not totally in love with. I also find that a lot of high-end products add perfumes which are sure to irritate my sensitive skin.

wpid-20150405_110818.jpg

I have been trying out highly recommended drug store brands recently and eventually I might decide to try a comparable high-end product. First I tried the Queen Collection of Cover Girl Cosmetics but I wasn’t impressed. The lightweight liquid foundation wasn’t full coverage so I had to use a concealer to cover up the hyper-pigmentation on my skin and a powder on top set with a setting spray. The product also wasn’t long wearing and it rubbed off easily despite the use of additional products. Since I didn’t care for the natural hue line I was hesitant to try the all day flawless line, so I decided to try L’Oreal Infallible in Cocoa. I liked the way it looked (see the picture above) and it is long wearing, though a setting spray is needed to get the full benefit.  Infallible provides medium coverage so a light concealer is needed to cover up any dark spots. When I hit pan with Infallible I decided to look for another foundation that would provide better coverage and longer wear.   I decided to give the Queen Collection another try so I bought the all day flawless 3 in 1 foundation in True Ebony. The only thing that I don’t like about drug store make up is that you don’t have the benefit of trying out the colors before buying them so I make a best guess as to what color I should buy. I wish there was a chart that showed the equivalent of colors in different brands. If anyone knows where I can find one please let me know in the comments section. I’m glad I decided to give it try because so far it seems to live up to all of its claims. It is a full coverage, long-lasting foundation and I barely need to use concealer.  I have cut the number of steps down from five to two or three. So far so good and no new break outs!

I also picked up a couple of lip colors that I am really loving! The NYX butter lipstick in Hunk is creamy and moisturizing in a luscious wine color. I also picked up the Milani Brilliant Shine lip gloss in Black Cherry and I am in love with this color! It is highly pigmented and offers a deep shiny rich finish. On a whim I picked up the Black Radiance Dynamic Duo in Plum. While it is really moisturizing I find that the lip color itself is not pigmented enough to be worn alone. I will probably either line it with darker liner or wear it more in the summer as a tinted lip balm.

Finally, I picked up the Milani Fierce Foil Eyeshine in Rome. I loved the rich purple colors in the palette and I have been in search of the perfect eyeshadow palette for ages. Unfortunately this wasn’t it. I didn’t realize when I bought it that the shadows had a creamy texture with a glittery finish. My favorite of the four colors in the palette is the dark purple which is on the bottom right side. It is a fun palette to play in but I wouldn’t wear it for an everyday make up look. I have the pinkish/lavender color on my lids in the picture above.

What are you favorite beauty items for the spring?  Share them below in the comments section.

Photos by D. Bell using Samsung Galaxy S5.  

FTC disclaimer: All products were purchased by me. This post was not sponsored.

Tell me something good below or email uptownflavor@gmail.com

