D.C. Jazz Festival at The Yards

On a whim I decided to throw my name in the hat on Yelp for free tickets to the DC Jazz Festival at The Yards.  I didn’t think anything more of it until the other day when I was checking my email and noticed a message from Yelp buried in the social tab of my gmail account. I used to go to outdoor concerts all the time in New York, but since I have moved to D.C. I rarely do the things that I used to enjoy doing in New York. I had never been to The Yards and didn’t know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised! The Yards is a lovely waterfront park that is just south of Capitol Hill. The Navy Yards Metro station is literally right there along with a restaurant row and beautifully landscaped water feature. It is lovely!

IMG_0326

I decided to eat before going into the concert because I didn’t know what vendors would be inside or how much they would charge for food and drinks. I stopped at a Korean fusion fast food spot that has a similar concept to Chipotle. TaKorean sold Korea Tacos with your choice of meat, toppings, and sauce. I went with chicken and was pleasantly surprised. The meat was tender and well seasoned. All of the ingredients were fresh. I would definitely try them again.

IMG_0291 IMG_0292

I walked toward the venue and passed a trapeze school where people were learning to “float through the air with the greatest of ease.”  You never know what you will find when you venture out.

IMG_0400

Despite the threat of rain we lucked out and the weather held out for us. I left as the sun made it’s way into the horizon and the area lit up under the cheerful glow of colorful lights. I look forward to visiting The Yards again this summer.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “D.C. Jazz Festival at The Yards

Tell me something good below or email uptownflavor@gmail.com

