My 5 Most Used Free Apps

cropped-859035.jpg

A couple of years ago I shared 5 essential apps for navigating a new city. Well, now that I am settled in I thought I would update my list to include some of my favorite and most used phone apps.

Instagram: I love taking pictures on Instagram so it is one of my top used apps. The app lets me share pictures either publicly or privately. One of the more popular features of the app is that users can apply digital filters to their images. I usually don’t use the filter feature because my camera phone quality is usually better than the filters. The maximum duration for Instagram videos is 15 seconds.

Swarm: I use Swarm primarily to figure out what is around the immediate area. I can see what restaurants are in the neighborhood, where the nearest drugstore is, and the name of an interesting building nearby. It is also fun to use when you have friends who are on Swarm, because you can check into a location and see if they are nearby.

Yelp: Yelp is a review site that give you real person reviews of local businesses.  I always check out the online reviews before wasting my valuable time and money on a new business.

Waze: If you are anything like me then you get turned around pretty easily while trying to navigate unfamiliar territory. Having a GPS in the car is great, but what about when you are walking?  Waze (pronounced ways) covers it all. It is a GPS app that  is totally reliable and operates in real time due to the fact that users are constantly updating it with road hazards, speed traps, red light cameras, and traffic jams. Just download Waze to your smartphone, type in your destination, and never worry about being lost again. You can also use it with friends and keep track of where they are for these times when you are in a caravan and get stuck at a red light or get cut off in traffic.

My Cycles: This is an app just for the ladies so gentlemen you can excuse yourselves at this point. Are they gone? OK, so this app is one of my favorites because it helps me to track my monthly cycles. I can track the dates, changes to my cycle, and any symptoms that occur.

Now it’s your turn to share. What are your favorite or most used apps on your phone?

One thought on “My 5 Most Used Free Apps

Tell me something good below or email uptownflavor@gmail.com

