The C&O Canal Walking Tour

 

Thursday after work I felt like going on an adventure so instead of heading straight home from work, I hopped on the Clara Barton Parkway and headed to Maryland to have a salad. Traffic was bad and my leg was starting to tense up so I pulled over into Lock 10 of the Chesapeake and Ohio Canal National Historic Park. I was familiar with the C&O Canal after seeing the end of it in Georgetown right before I moved to the area.

I got out of my car to stretch my legs and explore a bit. It was getting late in the evening and the park closes at dusk, so I didn’t stay long.  I plan to go back to explore the park when I have a full day to walk the trail and really enjoy the experience.

The canal was quite dry, but the area was peaceful and quiet. The scampering wildlife in the surrounding woods was the only interruption other than the bikers and joggers who find that the towpath an ideal destination for getting a good cardio workout in.

Information about the Lockhouse: Canal Trust

Visiting the C&O Canal: National Park Service

Tell me something good below or email uptownflavor@gmail.com

