Shea Moisture Coconut Hibiscus Twist Out

My hair story:

December 2014 I decided to cut all of my hair off for the third time in my life. The first time I had it professionally cut  into a short chemically relaxed style that was easy to maintain. I was in my 20s and I cried. The second time I cut off all of my hair myself with a pair of scissors in the bathroom. I did it out of anger at the end of a relationship. My hair remained natural for over 10 years. When I relocated to this area I decided that I wanted to get my hair blown out, so I found a Dominican salon in Rockville where I would religiously go to maintain my long, straight tresses. As time went on I noticed that I was losing my curl pattern and eventually my hair began to get thin and come out in clumps when I would wash it at home. I realized then that the salon had been putting chemicals into my hair. This was actually the second time I had this experience in a Dominican salon where I was a regular. The first time was at a salon in Harlem but the damage wasn’t as severe. Part of the reason that I went natural in the early 2000s was because my scalp couldn’t take chemicals anymore. I was started feeling the same discomfort, but because I was natural, or so I thought, I brushed it off.

wp-1461727333439.jpg

The big chop

Once it became apparent that my previously long healthy natural hair had been tampered with I took the scissors and cut away inches of uneven damaged hair. I began taking care of my own hair again. This is when I switched over to Shea Moisture products as the only products that I would use to shampoo and condition my hair. Shea Moisture was my product of choice because it easily detangled and moisturized my hair. I am a wash a go type of person and Shea Moisture made it easy to do just that. 20160426_225246.jpgSince my hair was short it was easy to manage and maintain.

Eventually my hair began to grow back and my curl pattern returned. I ventured out and started trying different lines of the Shea Moisture brand. I picked up the coconut and hibiscus line because I enjoyed the sweet scent of the product. I decided to twist out my hair on Sunday night while watching Beyonce’s Lemonade, so I grabbed my spray bottle and the jar of the Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie. By the last scene of Lemonade, my hair had been formed into chunky twists and wrapped up in a silky scarf for protection.

The next morning I carefully unraveled my twists to get the look in the first picture. By the end of the day, my curls had fallen into place. I wrapped my hair up into a pineapple the next night and the next morning freshened it with water to get the day two look in the second picture. I received a lot of compliments on the day two results of the twist out and plan to try it again using the Jamaican Black Castor Oil line next time.

What are your favorite products to use for twist outs? Do you have any tips of tricks for getting a perfect twist out? Share below in the comment section. 

Tell me something good below or email uptownflavor@gmail.com

